Page banner image

Re: Epilogue - Growing up, coming out, getting wet

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Wet Clothing Forum - Beach Club ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by kmf on January 21, 2023 at 01:39:27

In Reply to: Epilogue - Growing up, coming out, getting wet posted by Patrick on January 02, 2023 at 01:40:54:

Patrick, like everyone else here, I want to tell you how powerful and well-written your story is. I also worked as a summer camp staffer for quite a few years. It was for a private camp, not with the Boy Scouts, but it sounded similar in that it was a lot of early mornings, long days, and late nights, outdoors in all kinds of weather, good or bad. We at least had cabins and bunk beds for sleeping, which was less private but also probably more comfortable than tents. And of course there was the usual amount of sneaking off to the showers or other hidden areas, being that we were all a bunch of teenagers without our parents hovering over our shoulders for a couple months.

I also had a lot of opportunities to explore this wetlook thing. We had a river, a lake and a swimming pool that we used heavily. We also did a lot of slapstick skits and stuff to keep the kids laughing - so getting doused with a bucket of water, or sprayed with Nickelodeon-style green slime, or a custard pie in the face. It was usually a lot of fun (obviously some of the kids enjoyed it more than others), but there were definitely some nights where I was exhausted and just wanted some time to relax, and not play some silly loud game that would end with a pie getting smashed in my face. But, ya know, it was all in good fun.